Legal Requirements of Owning an Exotic Pet

In a household, pets are also considered as family since they provide entertainment and companionship to everyone. Not all would prefer the usual cats and dogs for pets, though, with some opting instead for more exotic types, such as marmoset monkeys and the like.


The state of Florida acknowledges this tendency for people to look for more interesting animals to own, yet they are also concerned for the safety of the animal. Thus, keeping an exotic animal as a pet requires a permit from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC), and it would be based on what class the animal will fall under.


Classes of Animals according to Florida law


The law classifies animals into three classes, and only Class II and III animals are allowed to be kept as pets as long as the owners have obtained the appropriate permit. Under Class I, animals are dangerous carnivores and primates, such as tigers, chimpanzees, and gorillas, and the state had forbidden ownership of these animals.


Class II animals, meanwhile, cover smaller carnivores and primates, such as wolves and monkeys. Any other species which are not listed among Class I and Class II animals, such as pygmy marmoset monkeys, are considered Class III animals, and require the same permits as Class II animals. For Class III animal owners, they’ll only need to fill up a charge-free application in order to obtain a permit.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s